Project Partner & Coordinator

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Athens, Greece


The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens is the oldest University in the modern Greek State, established in April 1837. It has approximately 40,000 undergraduate students, 7,700 postgraduate students, 6,500 PhD candidates and 1,800 faculty staff members. NKUA has the necessary equipment and facilities to support undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and research. The 33 Departments altogether have 160 laboratories that cover needs for teaching and research.

NKUA participates in SafeSpace through the Space Physics Group of the Department of Physics (67 faculty members and 38 other staff members) and of the Institute of Accelerating Systems and Applications (IASA) of NKUA. The Space Physics Group currently has 20 members and is led by Prof. Dr. Ioannis A. Daglis, former Director of IAASARS at the National Observatory of Athens. The group has access to the powerful computer infrastructure of IASA and has been implementing several EU and ESA-funded projects and has been participating in European space missions (science responsibility for the SREM unit of Rosetta, Co-I status in the SERENA suite of BepiColombo).

Main Tasks

NKUA will coordinate the SafeSpace project. NKUA will lead WP1 (Management and coordination) and WP6 (Exploitation, dissemination and communication) and will contribute to WP3 (Internal magnetospheric dynamics), WP4 (Space Safety Service) and WP5 (Evaluation and verification).

Key Personell

Prof. Dr. Ioannis Daglis

Project Coordinator
WP 1 and WP 6.4 Leader


Dr. Georgios Balasis

WP 6 and WP 6.1 Leader


Dr. Christos Katsavrias

WP 3.2 and WP 6.3 Leader


Dr. Omiros Giannakis

Deputy Project Coordinator


stefanos doulfis

WP 6.2 Leader


Konstantina Moutsouroufi

MSc, WP 6.5 Leader


Dr. Marina Georgiou



afroditi nasi

MSc, Researcher


Dr. Eleftheria Mitsakou

Project Coordinator Assistant


Dr. Fiori Anastasia MEtallinou



Adamantia Zoe Boutsi

MSc, Researcher